Fellow membership

Members of the profession who wish to continue their studies to an advanced level, or who specialise in a particular actuarial field, may take further specialist exams to qualify as a Fellow. Fellows use the letters FIA or FFA and are highly sought after as experts in their chosen field.

Members will be admitted to the class of Fellow on successful completion of the Associate exams (Core technical and Core applications subjects), two of the Specialist technical subjects, one of the Specialist applications subjects, and having met the work-based skills requirement.

The work-based skills requirement does not apply to students who joined the profession before 1 July 2004. However, Institute students who joined before this date will need to have met the work experience requirement.

Newly qualified Fellows of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries are required to attend a Professional Skills Course within 12 months of being admitted as a Fellow, if they have not done so already.

You will be sent your Fellowship certificate automatically, and we aim to send these out within six months of your transfer to Fellowship. If you need a replacement certificate please use the form on the right of this page.


Alternative routes to Fellowship

By vote of the membership

The Council, may, by a vote of not less than two-thirds of all its members, dispense with the examination qualification in the case of a person whose experience in matters relative to the profession of actuary is such as to render them worthy of election as a Fellow, provided that at least three-quarters of the number voting are in favour.

More information can be found in the Charter, rules and bye-laws.

By mutual recognition of qualifications

1. As an EU actuary

Council may admit as a Fellow an actuary who is a fully qualified actuary in another European Union member state. This is subject to the satisfactory completion of the various requirements set out under the Groupe Consultatif Agreement and/or the EU Directive 2005/36/EC and The European Communities (Recognition of Professional Qualifications) Regulations 2007.

Further details about becoming a Fellow under these arrangements can be found here.

2. As a Non-EU Actuary

Council may also admit as a Fellow an actuary who fulfils certain criteria set out in the various mutual recogition agreements (MRAs) the Profession has with the following actuarial associations:

  • Actuarial Society of India
  • Actuarial Society of South Africa
  • Canadian Institute of Actuaries
  • Casualty Actuarial Society
  • Groupe Consultatif
  • Institute of Actuaries of Australia
  • Institute of Actuaries of Japan
  • Society of Actuaries

Further details about becoming a Fellow under these mutual recognition agreements can be found here.


Honorary Fellow

The Council may recommend for election as an Honorary Fellow a person who, on account either of his position or of their eminence and experience in matters relative to the profession, appears to be able to render assistance in promoting the objects of the profession.

Honorary Fellows may attend Ordinary General Meetings and take part in the discussion of the papers presented; they are, however, not entitled to vote. Honorary Fellows may use the initials Hon FIA or Hon FFA.

List of Honorary Fellows