Prizes for exam performance

A number of prizes are awarded to those who show particular merit in the actuarial exams. In recent years the following prizes have been awarded.

Sir Joseph Burn Prize

The Sir Joseph Burn Prize is awarded to a UK student showing special merit in completing the exams and becoming eligible to transfer to the Class of Fellow

  April September
2014 Adam Gayton  Thomas Pickup
2013 Duncan Morris James Wilson

Emma Laithwaite

Edward Oliver

Daniel Peter Kendrick
2011 Andrew James Llewellyn Katherine Watkin
2010 Anne Rebecca Middleton Ross Bland
2009 Ian David Mitchell Matthew Alexander Simms
2008 Robert Michael Breeze Jonathan Paul Lewis Hatchett


Charles M Stern Award

The Charles M Stern Award, inaugurated in 1999, is made annually to a student from a non-UK centre who completes the exams and is deemed to have performed outstandingly in the ST/SA series

  April September
2014 Alice Kaye Mark Lee
2013 Annemii Wolmarans Jinn Jiau Spenser Chen
2012 Lingbo Wu Takaomi Kobori
2010 No award made Colm Kelly (Ireland)
2009 Robert Andrew Spaul (USA) Jacques Adriaan Burger Le Roux (South Africa)
2008 Ryan Neil Prozesky (South Africa) Niluki Chandima Rodrigo


Worshipful Company of Actuaries Prizes

The Worshipful Company of Actuaries has kindly donated prizes in recent years to students who obtain the highest mark in individual exams

  April September

Amy Ashbolt (Health and Care)

George Ealham (Life Insurance)

David Richard Butcher (Pensions)

Jason Sion Bartlett (Investment)

Daniel Chin Yang Lim (Health and Care)

Matthew James Harry Smith (Life Insurance)

Martin Leslie Cullum (Pensions)

No suitable candidate


Aisling Kennelley (Health and Care)

Ian Rogers (Life Insurance)

Louise Harrison (Pensions)

Clinton Elliott (Investment)

 Richard Cohen (Health and Care)

Thomas Johnson (Life Insurance)

Holly Hook (Pensions)


Ashley Moheeput
Edward Oliver
Nicola Hibberd

Heng Wen Kho
Oliver Charles Gingell
Victoria Rolfe

Darcelle Carina Salkey

2011 Alan James Rankine (Life insurance)

Jennifer Karen Sullivan
Andrew Philip Bell

2010 Ziqi Zhu (Life insurance)
Thomas George Kirby (Pensions)
Nikesh Patel (Investment)
David Alan Barton (Life insurance)
Helen Beggs (Pensions)
Beenesh Googoolye (Investment)
2009 Stephen Walker (Life insurance) Benjamin Richard Warwick Morgan (Life insurance)
David Barclay Bernard (Pensions)
2008 Thomas Harper (Life insurance)
Claire Dudley (Pensions)
Martin Paul Jecks (Investment)
Timothy James Castle (Investment)
Anthony Michael Gershom Buck (Life insurance)


International Underwriting Association General Insurance Fellowship Prize

Established in 2002, the International Underwriting Association General Insurance Fellowship Prize is awarded for the best performance in SA3

  April September
2014 Siobhan McDonnell Thomas Pickup
2013 Emily Pegg Heather Hartnett
2012 Donna-Maria Filannino George Petropoulous
2011 Jasvinder Singh Johal  Alasdair Craig
2010 Lucy Victoria Briggs Nyasha Chipanga
2009 Seena Dilraj Gopal Jennifer Elizabeth Butler
2008 Michael James Garner Bruce Stocker


Towers Watson Prize for Financial Economics (formerly the Watson Wyatt prize)

Established in 2002, the Watson Wyatt Prize for Financial Economics is awarded for the best performance in CT8

  April September
2014 Parth Dave James PJ Male
2013 Yingyin Zeng Simon Curle
2012 James Robert Keates Jonathan Read
2011 Yijing Xie  Shaun Lazzari
2010 Stephanie Cole Emma Laithwaite
2009 Simon Hubbard Anne Butterfil
2008 Sarah Softley Michael Armitage

Actuarial Risk Managment Prize

Sponsored by SIAS from 2012 to 2013, the Actuarial Risk Management prize is awarded for the best performance in CA1.

  April September
2014 Laura Treece Christopher Spencer
2013 Jason Bartlett Rachel Cutts
2012 Peter McAllister

Ruairi Campbell

Medals and Prizes Book

A record of the medals and prizes awarded to members is listed in the Medals and Prizes Book which is on display at our office in London.