# COUNCIL MEETING, INSTITUTE AND FACULTY OF ACTUARIES MINUTES

Date 1 June 2016

Start Time 14.15 Finish Time 16.30

Place Stirling Suite, Sheraton Hotel, Edinburgh

# **Council Members present:**

Fiona Morrison President and Chair

Kelvin Chamunorwa Carole Ryden Jules Constantinou Nick Salter **Charles Cowling Edwin Sheaf** Stephen Cunningham Nick Silver Marian Elliott Malcolm Slee Andrew Hitchcox Mike Smedley Keith Jennings Peter Tompkins Patrick Lee Elliot Varnell Kathryn Morgan Suzanne Vaughan Marjorie Ngwenya Haijing Wang Mark O'Reilly\* Colin Wilson Martin Potter Cynthia Yuan Louise Pryor Feifei Zhang

#### In attendance:

Derek Cribb IFoA, Chief Executive
Clifford Friend IFoA, Director of Education
Ben Kemp IFoA, General Counsel
Memoria Lewis\* IFoA, Membership Director

Anne Moore IFoA, Director of Finance and Operations

Paul Reynolds IFoA, Director of Public Affairs Kimberley Russell IFoA, Corporate Secretary Chair, IFoA Management Board

Mark Stocker IFoA Fellow, as Observer

#### **PART I – INTRODUCTION AND PROTOCOLS**

### 1. WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The President welcomed attendees to the first day of the fifth Council meeting of the 2015 – 2016 session. There were apologies from Deborah Cooper, Andrew Rear and Ellen Yang. The Immediate Past President, Nick Salter, held Andrew Rear's proxy.

#### 2. REGISTRATION AND DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

No declarations of interest were made.

<sup>\*</sup> By telephone.

# PART II - SPECIFIC ITEMS\*\*

# 3. CERTIFIED ACTUARIAL ANALYST

This agenda item would be minuted separately as a confidential item of these minutes.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Council heard a presentation from the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Actuaries Institute Australia but not as a formal part of the agenda.