COUNCIL MEETING, INSTITUTE AND FACULTY OF ACTUARIES MINUTES

Date 17 April 2015

Start Time 15.00

Finish Time 16.20 (approximately)

Place Council Chamber, Staple Inn, London

Council Members present:

Nick Salter* President

Deborah Cooper **Edwin Sheaf** Charles Cowling* Simon Sheaf Malcolm Slee* **Huw Evans** David Hare* Mike Smedlev Patrick Lee Alan Rubenstein Donald Macleod* Peter Tompkins Elliot Varnell Kathryn Morgan* Suzanne Vaughan* Fiona Morrison* Mark O'Reilly* Colin Wilson Martin Potter* Feifei Zhang

*by telephone

In attendance:

Derek Cribb* Chief Executive
Kimberley Russell Corporate Secretary

Holly Vidago Personal Assistant, Chief Executive

PART I - GOVERNANCE

1 Welcome and Apologies

The President welcomed attendees to the fourth Council meeting of the 2014/15 session.

Both the President and President-elect (Fiona Morrison) offered their apologies; they had not been able to attend in person. While the President would chair the meeting he had asked Mike Smedley (Member of the Nominations Committee) to facilitate the meeting locally.

There were ten apologies from Council members Helen Davies, Marian Elliot, Karen Grant, Benny Higgins, Marjorie Ngwenya, Andrew Rear, Carole Ryden, Nick Silver, Alan Watson and Cynthia Xi Yuan. There were no proxy votes given for this meeting.

2. Registration and Declaration of Interests

No declarations of interests were made. Kimberley Russell reminded Colin Wilson and Alan Rubenstein that they would not be in attendance at the presentation of the other candidate.

PART II - PRESIDENT-ELECT 2015-2016

3. Casting Vote

Council agreed that the President, as Chair of Council, would have the casting vote in the event of a tie of votes. The President would place his casting vote to the Corporate Secretary in advance of votes being counted.

4. Nomination Committee Report

Council noted that the members of the Nominations Committee had not been unanimous in the views recorded in Section 1 of Paper 01 15. No comments or questions were made on the process followed by the Nominations Committee.

Section 1 of Paper 01 15 noted.

5. President-elect Presentations

Mike Smedley asked Alan Rubenstein to leave the meeting room and for Colin Wilson to remain.

Colin Wilson spoke to Council about his candidacy and responded to questions posed by Council members. Colin Wilson was thereafter asked to leave the meeting room.

Alan Rubenstein joined the meeting and spoke to Council about his candidacy and responded to questions posed by Council members. Alan Rubenstein was again asked to leave the meeting room.

6. Vote for President-elect 2015-2016

Council agreed that Kimberley Russell would count the votes placed by Council members. Council also agreed that Holly Vidago would independently also count the votes.

Council members present in person were handed voting papers and those on the telephone asked to submit their votes electronically to Kimberley Russell. Council noted that some members of Council, including some of those unable to attend in person or by phone, had sent their vote to Kimberley Russell in advance of the meeting.

Kimberley Russell and Holly Vidago left the meeting to count and double count the votes.

Colin Wilson and Alan Rubenstein were asked to re-join the meeting.

7. Result of the Vote

Mike Smedley announced that Colin Wilson had been elected as President-elect for 2015-2016.

The President, Fiona Morrison and the rest of the Council congratulated both candidates on their excellent candidacy. Council members present in person were invited to attend a drinks reception to be held immediately after the meeting.

PART V - RETIREMENTS FROM COUNCIL

8. Retirements from the General Constituency

Council agreed the retirees for the General Constituency would be as follows:

- Deborah Cooper
- Helen Davies
- Huw Evans
- Marjorie Ngwenya
- Simon Sheaf
- Elliot Varnell

9. Retirements from the Scottish Constituency

Council agreed the retirees for the Scottish Constituency would be as follows:

- Donald Macleod
- Martin Potter
- Alan Watson

Section 2 of Paper 01 15 noted and approved.

10. Nominations Form

Council approved the Nomination Forms for the General and Scottish Constituencies. Council asked Kimberley Russell to ensure the Task and Person Specification for a Council Member had been duly updated to appropriately reflect points agreed at a Council meeting in May 2014.

Action 1 - K Russell

Appendices 4 and 5 of Paper 01 15 approved.

PART IV - PRESIDENT AND IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

11. Appointment of Miss Fiona Morrison as President

Council confirmed the appointment of Fiona Morrison as President with effect from the Annual General Meeting to be held on 29 June 2015.

12. Invitation to Mr Nick Salter to become Immediate Past President

Nick Salter accepted Council's formal invitation to become the Immediate Past President with effect from the Annual General Meeting to be held on 29 June 2015.

Schedule of Actions

Item	Action	Member	When
10	1	Kimberley Russell	1 May 2015