INSTITUTE AND FACULTY OF ACTUARIES COUNCIL MEETING - PRESIDENT-ELECT ELECTION MINUTES

Wednesday 23 March 2022, 09:00-11.00 GMT Via videoconference

Council members Present:

Louise Pryor President and Chair for Items 1-2

Tan Suee Chieh Immediate Past President, and Chair from item 3

Cherry Chan Patrick Kelliher Matt Saker Kartina Thomson Charles Cowling Sarah Neil Hitesh Shah Peter Tompkins Hannah Coleman Kalpana Shah Mark Williams Mukami Njeru Michelle Darracott Danny Quant Sunil Sharma Yang Yu Malcolm Slee Cynthia Yuan Gilli Engel Alan Rae Nick Spencer Masimba Zata Dermot Grenham Craig Ritchie

Jennifer Hartley

In attendance:

James Harrigan Corporate Secretary

1. Introduction and Apologies

1.1 The President welcomed everyone to the meeting. Council Members Andrew Rear, Maribel Vasquez Flores and Prosper Matiashe sent their apologies.

2. Registration and Declaration of Interests

2.1 No declarations of interest were made.

3. Report from Nominations Committee

Matt Saker was asked to leave the meeting for the vote on his appointment as President for the 2022/23 sessional year (item 3.1(a) below). He rejoined after the vote.

- 3.1 Council noted the report from the Nominations Committee and unanimously approved the following:
 - a) To appoint Matt Saker as President for the 2022/23 sessional year from the IFoA's Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 15 June 2022.
 - b) To invite Louise Pryor to become Immediate Past President for the 2022/23 sessional year from the IFoA's AGM on 15 June 2022.
- 3.2 Council noted that the following members of the General constituency will retire from Council at the end of the current sessional year:
 - Gilli Engel
 - Jennifer Hartley
 - Prosper Matiashe
 - Tan Suee Chieh
 - Steven Yu
 - Cynthia Yuan

- 3.3 Council noted that should Kalpana Shah be unsuccessful in being elected to the position of President-elect, she would also retire from her General constituency seat on Council at the end of the current sessional year.
- 3.4 Council noted that the following members of the Scottish constituency will retire from Council at the end of the current sessional year:
 - Alan Rae
 - Andy Rear

Paper 24 22 approved.

PART 2 – PRESIDENT-ELECT ELECTION

4. Casting Vote

4.1 Council agreed that in the event of a tie in the President-elect election, the President would have the casting vote.

5. President-elect 2022/23 Candidate Presentations

5.1 The Immediate Past President confirmed the order of the presentations which had been selected randomly and, accordingly, asked the candidates to leave the meeting when it was not their turn to present. In turn, each candidate spoke to Council in support of their candidacy and then responded to questions from Council members.

Papers 25 22 - 26 22 (the candidates' submissions) noted.

6. Vote for President-elect 2022/23

- 6.1 Council agreed that the Corporate Secretary would count the votes placed by Council members, and then the Assistant Corporate Secretary would independently re-count the votes.
- 6.2 Council members were asked to submit their votes electronically to the Corporate Secretary and the Assistant Corporate Secretary.
- 6.3 Council members placed their votes, these were counted by the Corporate Secretary, and then the Assistant Corporate Secretary counted the votes.

7. Result of the Vote

7.1 The Immediate Past President announced that Kalpana Shah had been duly elected as President-elect for the 2022/23 sessional year. Council congratulated Kalpana and thanked Nick Spencer for standing.

End.