All Student Actuarial Analysts of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA) are Category 6 members

It is important that you read the CPD Scheme 2018/2019 in full to familiarise yourself with the requirements and your responsibilities under it.

If you have any questions please contact

Category 6 - Definition

All members who are Student Actuarial Analysts of the IFoA on 1 July 2018 and who have not been classified as retired by the IFoA are Category 6 members for the purposes of this Scheme.

CPD year

The Category 6 CPD year runs from 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019.

Category 6 members’ obligations under the Scheme shall have effect from 1 July following their transfer to or admission as Student Actuarial Analyst.


There is no technical skills requirement for Category 6 members.

Category 6 members must undertake Stage 1 of the PST (read CPD Schedule 1 or visit Stage 1 Online Professional Awareness Test) by the end of their first CPD year.

Related documents

Contact Details

If you have any enquires about CPD, please contact the Membership Team

We aim to respond to all enquiries within two working days.