You are here

IFoA Members Recognised in New Year Honours List

The IFoA is delighted to announce that three members have been honoured in the UK’s New Year Honours List.

These honours are bestowed by Her Majesty the Queen in recognition of outstanding contributions to society and the public interest over the past year.

Stuart McDonald MBE

Stuart has been awarded the MBE for his invaluable contribution to the understanding of the Covid-19 pandemic and its impact. Through his work with the IFoA, the Continuous Mortality Investigation, the Covid-19 Actuaries Response Group, and the UK Government, Stuart has played an important role in the UK’s response to the pandemic.

Mitesh Sheth MBE

Mitesh was awarded the MBE for his contribution and leadership on various diversity initiatives including the Diversity Project, the LGBT Great #50For50 initiative, and the Race and Ethnicity workstream. Mitesh’s achievements demonstrate the positive contribution the profession makes to public life and to creating a more inclusive society.

Fiona Mackenzie MBE

Fiona was awarded the MBE in the New Year Honours List for her outstanding services in raising awareness of sexual violence against women through the “We Can’t Consent To This” campaign.

Having three prominent members recognised in this fashion underscores the incredible contribution actuaries are making to society, deploying their unique skills and insights to help create a better world for everyone.