You are here

Research prize nominations

Nominate exceptional actuarial research

The Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA) is seeking nominations for two of its best paper prizes:  the Peter Clark Prize and Geoffrey Heywood Prize, recognising outstanding actuarial research.

Nominate the stand-out papers from the last year by Thursday 1 August 2019.

  • The Peter Clark Prize is awarded to the best paper written by members of the profession and intended for an actuarial audience.
  • The Geoffrey Heywood Prize considers material which demonstrates excellent levels of communication and engagement with an actuarial audience who are not subject matter experts.

Sarah Mathieson, Head of Research and Knowledge at the IFoA, said:

“It’s important that our professional community recognises those who, through their research, advance the field of actuarial science and help to sustain the relevance of our profession. One way the IFoA does this through is through awarding the Peter Clark and Geoffrey Heywood prizes.

“As part of our CPD and also for general interest, we all see research presented at events and read papers and journal articles.  So I hope members will be keen to let us know what research has impressed them and may merit consideration for a prize.”

Papers must have been presented to a mainly actuarial audience, such as at an IFoA conference or Sessional Research Meeting, no earlier than 31 May 2018, and/or first published in an actuarial or related journal or conference proceedings during 2018.

All nominations will be assessed for both prizes.

Nominations are welcome from IFoA members and non-members alike. Self-nominations from paper authors will not be accepted.