You are here

Quality Assurance Scheme Sub-Committee

The Quality Assurance Scheme Sub-Committee is responsible for the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries’ Quality Assurance Scheme accreditations.

The QAS Sub-Committee acts on behalf of the Regulation Board to determine applications for QAS accreditation and to monitor those accreditations once awarded.  The full responsibilities of the QAS Sub-Committee are set out in the Terms of Reference.

QAS Sub-Committee members include lay people and a balanced representation of volunteers’ member from different industries and countries where the QAS operates.  Please see more information in the QAS Sub-Committe Member Biographies.

The purpose of the QAS Sub-Committee is to:

  • Review and approve QAS applications
  • Review and note Annual Return applications
  • Review and approve Senior Quality Assurance Representative (SQAR) nominations

The QAS Sub-Committee meets quarterly and has a lay Chair.

Sub-Committee members include lay people and a balanced representation of member volunteers from different practice areas.


  • Victor Olowe, Lay Chair
  • Iain McGrory, Lay Member
  • Helen Brown, Lay Member
  • Alison Carr, Lay Member
  • Chan Tze Leong
  • Douglas Green
  • Ruth Thomas
  • Alison Carr


  • Katie Wood, Quality Assurance Scheme Manager
  • Emma Gilpin, Head of Regulatory Policy
  • Ben Kemp, Director, General Counsel

The QAS Sub-Committee meets quarterly with a follow-up conference call to finalise any decisions.  The next scheduled quarterly meetings are:

  • 25 March 2021 
  • 16 June 2021
  • 23 September 2021
  • 06 December 2021


APS QA1 professional standard and QAS Handbook

Contact Details

Quality Assurance Scheme

QAS Team, Institute and Faculty of Actuaries, Level 2 Exchange Crescent, 7 Conference Square, Edinburgh, EH3 8RA

Filter or search events

Start date
E.g., 31/07/2021
End date
E.g., 31/07/2021

Events calendar