The planned maintenance work over the weekend has been postponed. The My Account section will now remain available on 3rd and 4th October 2015 as normal.

Our qualifications

Actuarial student

The aim of the actuarial education strategy is to equip the actuaries of the future with the skills they will need for their employers and clients. All exam subjects can be taken by well-established distance learning methods, but we also make use of university-based education. This provides flexibility in structuring courses, and means an increased choice of tuition provision for students both before and after they enter the profession.

The entry standards for student membership are set out in the admission regulations on the right.

More information on student membership


Students can become Associate members of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries and gain the right to describe themselves as an actuary and to use the letters AIA or AFA.

As an actuary and an Associate of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries, members have a breadth of expertise that brings wide and varied opportunities.

More information on Associate membership


Members of the profession who wish to continue their studies to an advanced level, or who specialise in a particular actuarial field, may take further specialist exams to qualify as a Fellow. Fellows use the letters FIA or FFA and are highly sought after as experts in their chosen field.

The Council may also recommend a person who is eminent or experienced in matters relative to the profession, for election as an Honorary Fellow.

More information on Fellow membership

Certified Actuarial Analyst

The Certified Actuarial Analyst (CAA) provides an internationally recognised professional qualification, proven technical and professional skills, and a gateway to a career in financial services. The qualification will equip you with key analytical skills, and enable you to advance your career.

More information on CAA


Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary

CERA, or the Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary qualification, is a global risk management qualification which the UK Actuarial Profession is accredited to award to members who meet certain criteria. It is one of the most comprehensive and rigorous enterprise risk management qualifications available. It aims to address the urgent need for highly-qualified risk management professionals worldwide, especially in the financial sector.

More information on the CERA qualification