You are here

Yorkshire Actuarial Society

The Yorkshire Actuarial Society (YAS) was founded in 1981 as a society for Students, Associates and Fellows of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA)

Meetings are normally held on a Tuesday or Wednesday in York or Leeds and start at 18.00.  The sessions usually last one hour.

The YAS is free to join and new members and visitors are very welcome

The Committee is keen to receive ideas for technical and social events from members in the Yorkshire area and beyond.  If you have an idea for an event, please let the committee know.

Forthcoming events

Title Economic outlook
Date 24 January 2017
Time 18.00 - 19.00
Venue Aviva, Wellington Row, York, YO90 1WR
Speaker Peter Spencer, Professor of Economics and Finance at York University and Chief Economic Advisor, EY ITEM Club
About the event

As Peter puts it, there is a lot going on at the moment. The world is seeing some fundamental shifts. What could this mean for the economy? Peter will base his talk around the latest EY Item Club report.

The ITEM Club is the only non-governmental forecasting group to use HM Treasury's model of the UK economy. Their reports provide a detailed economic analysis and forecast of economic activity for the period ahead. They are independent of any political, economic or business bias.

Booking Please confirm by 20 January if you are attending.

Who's who in the Yorkshire Actuarial Society

Officer Name Contact
President John Lister +44 (0)1904 688 346
Secretary Malcolm Slee +44 (0)1904 452 792
Treasurer Jamie Butler +44 (0)1904 452 800 

Ordinary members:





Janet Baker
Matthew Cresswell
Gemma Stonehouse
John Harvey
Sarah Coy
Matthew Mikola
Nicky Rushforth
Stephen Simkins

Student Consultative Committee Chris Poulton  

Related documents

You might also like

Contact Details

For information regarding regional societies, please contact the Regions Manager, Tess Joyce.