You are here


Fellowship is the highest level of qualification attainable with the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA) and members who achieve Fellowship are highly sought after as experts in their chosen field

Fellowship is available to members who wish to continue their studies to an advanced level, or to specialise in a particular actuarial field. They will need to pass further specialist exams to qualify as a Fellow.

Fellowship carries the designation FIA (Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries) or FFA (Fellow of the Faculty of Actuaries)

Fellows have the right to vote on matters affecting the future of the profession and the opportunity to be involved in membership forums, events and research.

Some actuarial jobs have UK statutory requirements which can only be completed by a Fellow

Find out more about this on the Practising Certificates page.

To become a Fellow you must complete the following:

Core Principles subjects (CS1-2, CM1-2 and CB1-3) either by examination or exemption

Core Practices subjects (CP1-3) either by examination or exemption

Two Specialist Principles (SP) subjects either by examination or exemption

One Specialist Advanced (SA) subject by examination or dissertation

Personal and Professional Development (PPD)

Professional Skills Course (if you have not yet taken this course you must do so within 12 months of becoming a Fellow)

Further information on modules, including the syllabus and specimen papers, can be found under Curriculum 2019.

Once you have met all the requirements we will contact you with instructions on how to register as a Fellow.

Contact Details

Member Services Team

Institute and Faculty of Actuaries, 1st Floor, Park Central, 40/41 Park End Street, Oxford, OX1 1JD

+44 1865 268207

We aim to respond to all enquiries within two working days.

Filter or search events

Start date
E.g., 01/08/2021
End date
E.g., 01/08/2021

Events calendar