You are here

Enterprising Maths Competition Scotland

Yesterday saw the final of the Enterprising Maths competition in Scotland. Over 60 schools were represented during the day, which saw 250 students taking part in four rounds of competition. From answer mathematical questions, creating mathematical structures and running relays in the afternoon. The event was held at the Glasgow Science Centre, which provided the perfect backdrop to an event that encourages students to think about a career in the STEM subjects.

All of the students did really well during the day and the final results were:

  1. First place – Stewart's Melville College
  2. Second place – Dollar Academy
  3. Third place – Williamwood High School

Congratulations to all of the finalists!

The full list of schools that attended the event were:

  • Stewart's Melville College
  • Dollar Academy
  • Williamwood High School
  • Bearsden Academy
  • Perth High School
  • George Heriot's School
  • Millburn Academy
  • Linlithgow Academy
  • Bannerman High School
  • Hamilton Grammar School
  • Dingwall Academy
  • Drummond Community High School
  • Ardnamurchan High School
  • Elgin Academy
  • St Andrew's and St Bride's High School
  • Charleston Academy
  • James Hamilton Academy
  • Queen Margaret Academy
  • Dunblane High School
  • Notre Dame High School, Greenock
  • Balwearie High School
  • Hutchesons' Grammar School
  • Ross High School
  • Elgin High School
  • Trinity Academy
  • Boroughmuir High School
  • McLaren High School
  • Douglas Ewart High School
  • Beeslack Community High School
  • St John's Academy, Perth
  • Jedburgh Grammar School
  • Inverclyde Academy
  • Cults Academy
  • Westhill Academy
  • Kirkcaldy High School
  • Lasswade High School
  • Dunfermline High School
  • Boclair Academy
  • St Matthew's Academy, Saltcoats
  • Prestwick Academy
  • Balerno Community High School
  • Peebles High School
  • Grange Academy
  • St Paul's RC Academy
  • Alford Academy
  • St Andrews RC Secondary School
  • Coatbridge High School
  • Kirkcudbright Academy
  • Monifieth High School
  • Stonelaw High School
  • Harris Academy
  • Arbroath High School
  • St Thomas Aquinas Secondary School
  • Ardrossan Academy
  • Inveralmond Community High School
  • Mackie Academy
  • Alloa Academy
  • Sgoil Ghàidhlig Ghlaschu
  • Dumbarton Academy
  • Bellshill Academy
  • St Andrew's High School

We look forward to sponsoring the event again next year. 


Contact Details

You can contact the Careers team at:

Institute and Faculty of Actuaries, 7th Floor Holborn Gate, 326-330 High Holborn, London WC1V 7PP

We aim to respond to all enquiries within five working days.