You are here

Exemptions for students of the Actuaries Institute, Australia

If you have completed degree programmes at universities which have agreements with the Actuaries Institute we can grant exemptions from some of our exams.

Who is eligible for exemptions?

Members who joined the IFoA before 17:00 (BST) on 31 July 2019 and hold the exemptions for subjects from the Actuaries Institute Australia until 31 December 2021 maybe eligible for exemption from certain subjects (Core Principles and CP1).

Graduates from the following universities accredited by the Actuaries Institute Australia are eligible to apply for exemptions with the IFoA:

Australian National University, Bond University, Curtin University, Macquarie University, Monash University, University of Melbourne and UNSW Australia.

Please note, exemptions must be recognised/granted by the Actuaries Institute Australia before you can apply to the IFoA. We will not grant exemptions based documentation that only confirms eligibility or documentation received from the university.

Student members have until 31st December 2022 to claim their exemptions.

Who is not eligible for exemptions?

Members who joined the IFoA after 17:00 (BST) on 31 July 2019 are not eligible for exemptions based on the exam passes or exemption recognition from the Actuaries Institute Australia.  If you joined the IFoA after the 31 July 2019, please see the Transfer of Prior Learning category for further details before you consider IFoA student membership. If you joined the IFoA on or before 31 July 2019, but subsequently resigned or lapsed your membership, for a short period of time ( normally less than 12 months), you should contact Education Services to discuss your case.

From 1 January 2023 onwards the IFoA will not be accepting any applications for exemptions from the Actuaries Institute Australia.

Exemptions available are listed below.

Actuaries Institute exams passed before 31 December 2018 IFoA Fellowship exemptions
Part I You may be eligible to apply for exemptions from any of the CT1-8 exams
Part II A - the Actuarial Control Cycle You may be eligible to apply for an exemption from CA1
Actuaries Institute exams sat or passed between 1st January 2019 to 31 December 2021 IFoA Fellowship exemptions
Foundation Program You may be eligible to apply for exemptions from any of the CM, CB & CS exams
Actuary Program (Actuarial Control Cycle) You may be eligible to apply for an exemption from CP1

Further information is available from the Actuaries Institute.

Related documents

You might also like

Contact Details

Member Services Team

Institute and Faculty of Actuaries, 1st Floor, Park Central, 40/41 Park End Street, Oxford, OX1 1JD

+44 1865 268207

We aim to respond to all enquiries within two working days.

Filter or search events

Start date
E.g., 16/06/2022
End date
E.g., 16/06/2022

Events calendar

  • Spaces available

    We’ve all heard about the gender pay gap. Sadly, the gap doesn’t just exist with base pay.

    Research carried out by Legal & General in 2021 across the four million members in our Defined Contribution (DC) pensions, found that there’s a gender pension gap too, continuing the divide between men and women.

  • Spaces available

    As current global events continue to demonstrate, geopolitical tensions present significant risks to corporates of all sizes. However, these types of risk are often not given the discussion time it needs at the board level or executive committee levels, nor the resources required to anticipate, analyse and mitigate them effectively.

  • Spaces available

    At retirement, it has become very popular for those with Defined Contribution (DC) pensions to choose drawdown rather than an annuity, but drawing a sustainable lifetime income in this way is an impossible challenge for most people. We consider a Decumulation Pathway for the typical consumer, where a small part of the DC fund is set aside for any flexible access and legacy requirements. The bulk is then used to provide a lifetime income, utilising the pooling or insuring of longevity risk.

  • CILA 2022

    23 May 2022 - 24 May 2022

    Spaces available

    We continue to live in a world of global uncertainty. Survival depends on our ability to simultaneously navigate through the diverse root-causes, ranging from: the consequences of Climate Change; transitioning to Net Zero; increased inflationary pressures and supply chain issues; to self-imposed changes in regulatory requirements. CILA 2022 focuses on these challenges to ensure we continue to be informed and remain battle ready, as well as showcasing highlights of recent CMI outputs.

  • Spaces available

    In the spirit of fostering the IFoA’s vibrant, global community and enabling our members to participate, we have decided to hold our AGM virtually again this year. This allows for greater accessibility to this important annual event, and for greater accountability of our organisation.

    The Business of the AGM

  • The IFoA Conference 2022

    133 Liverpool St, London EC3A 7BX and Online
    22 June 2022 - 23 June 2022
    Spaces available

    We’re delighted to welcome you back to our first in-person conference since early 2020, also being delivered virtually in our first-ever hybrid event. The theme of our inaugural two-day conference is ‘Focusing on tomorrow’s actuary’ and will explore the contribution actuarial science is making to some of tomorrow’s biggest issues.