You are here

Election of Honorary Fellows

Voting members of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA) are called upon to vote on the election of the following individuals as Honorary Fellows nominated in 2018. These nominees are held by Council to have given service to the actuarial profession, directly or through achievements in related fields.

How to vote

Voting is conducted independently by Electoral Reform Services. Voting members will receive access codes directly from ERS by email on Monday 29 July. If you do not receive an email, contact the Public Affairs team.

The ballot is open 24 hours a day and closes on Tuesday 27 August 2019, 23:59 BST, after which the General Meeting for this proposal will be deemed closed.

Nominee profiles

This year, two individuals have been endorsed by Council:

Sir Steve Webb:

Steve WebbSir Steve Webb has been nominated for Honorary Fellowship of the IFoA in recognition of his contribution to public policy in the UK, in particular his work to raise the profile of important issues in the areas of pensions and social care over a career in Government and the private sector.

Sir Steve is currently Director of Policy at Royal London. He was Minister of State for Pensions between 2010 and 2015, the longest-serving holder of the post. During that time he implemented major reforms to the state pension system, oversaw the successful introduction of automatic enrolment and played a key role in the new pension freedoms implemented in April 2015.

He served as a Liberal Democrat MP from 1997 to 2015. Before this he was professor of social policy at Bath University for two years, having previously worked for nine years as an economist at the Institute for Fiscal Studies.

Dr David Bellhouse:

David BellhouseDr David Bellhouse has been nominated for Honorary Fellowship of the IFoA in recognition of his contribution to actuarial academia, and in particular his work to chart the history of the science, including notable works on Life Contingent Contracts in the Eighteenth Century and French mathematician Abraham De Moivre.

David studied actuarial mathematics in 1970, completed a Masters Degree in statistics in 1972 and a PhD in 1975.

He was employed at the University of Western Ontario from 1977 and there he designed the statistics curriculum when the Department of Statistical and Actuarial Sciences was formed in 1980, and where he stayed until his retirement in 2016.

During his active career, David published acclaimed biographies of eighteenth-century figures Thomas Bayes and Abraham De Moivre.

In his retirement, David returned to his actuarial roots, publishing Leases for Lives: Life Contingent Contracts and the Emergence of Actuarial Science in Eighteenth-Century Britain in 2017.

More about Honorary Fellowship

You can read more about the criteria for Honorary Fellowship, the voting process, and how you can make your own nominations, on the IFoA website.